Read-only archive of the Duel of Fists
DoF Archive
Archivist

Beneath the Surface Lies (Lilly)

Post by DoF Archive » Sun May 16, 2004 5:30 pm

Date: 7/31/2000 11:28 PM Central Daylight Time

Beneath the Surface Lies

Page 43

Sometimes I find myself, mostly late at night, wondering about certain situations. Things that couldn't occur, but I kind of linger on the "what if" of the matter. Like what would I say to my mother if I saw her again. I've done that scenario a thousand times, it never has a happy ending.

One of my problems, and I admit to several, is that I'm not good with free time. My psychologist says it has to do with my creativity, something about I have too much of it. Funny as it may sound, you have to have a sizable amount of creativity to be as good at my job as I am. That's not a boast, you can look that up in my file, it'll tell you that I'm efficient ... that's government speak for damn good.

Biggest problem I run into is during down time. My government learned the hard way to allow its best operatives to seek out little side jobs when it didn't have an assignment waiting ... it cut down on "incidents". Best not to go into that just now, its a long story and one in and of itself.

So when I'm technically "off", I dig around and there's usually at least one opportunity that's low profile and seems like a time killer. That's a pun there, probably not readily apparent for those that don't know me well, but if you did know me, it'd probably crack you up to tears.

Anyway, I usually find some odd job to do, in some distant locale so that if things go wrong it doesn't get back to my superiors. Sometimes I luck out and it keeps me occupied until I get recalled for a government job, other times I'm left with enough of a time made rope with which to hang myself.